[Interpolated]
Floreat, WA
Welcome one and all to An Optimist’s Opinion! Fluttershy YayHappy This is an opinion series I’ve wanted to do for ages. However, I have no equipment/software/experience putting together an analytical video, so this being a written opinion piece will have to do for now.

In this series, I wish to try and put a positive spin or even outright defend things that the fandom seems to despise with a passion. Whether it be character, event, or even an entire episode, I’ll do my best to make it seem a little better. But that will be hard considering my first subject.

Flash Sentry. HuhOff My Lawn

Now, before the pitchforks and torches come out, let me clarify something right off the bat; I agree with the general consensus that EQG1 Flash sucked the big one. Whether Meghan McCarthy was having an off day, she was busy organising season 3 or it being a decree from Hasbro, Flash was a poor character in the first movie.
The biggest middle finger for most bronies is his clear purpose of existence to be Twilight’s human love interest. Everything about him, from his design to his attitude, screams “Date me Twilight”, angering every brony that had Twilight as their pony waifu. Hell, even his colour design is done to compliment Twilight. But ironically his biggest flaw, in my opinion anyway, is that in the first movie, Flash had no character flaws. Any fanfic writer worth their salt can tell you flaws help the reader/viewer relate to the character. In the first movie, Flash had none. He was good-looking, a cool kid, part of a band and drove a pallet-swapped Bumblebee from Transformer Prime. Gonna be pretty hard to relate to that.